It’s not just about the food we eat, it’s also about the products we use

I know I have been going on and on about eating Organically and without any added hormones but what I am also very aware of is using products that could harm me too. So I have been working really hard on using the correct products which do not contain any Parabens or SLS (Sodium Laurel/Laureth Sulfates)

Good old Health Food shops are fab places to get some amazing products and I get most of mine from Spill The Beans in Wimborne, Broadstone Health Foods and Home Brew and Purbeck Wholefoods in Wareham but I do love to go into any Health Food shop these days to check out their food and products to see if there is anything new I can try.

Toothpaste is something I am mad about, I LOVE my teeth to be as white as possible and have always used a nice Colgate Whitening toothpaste, so I was always really concerned about changing my toothpaste to something new. The first and only one I have tried, or need to try is AloeDent. I have nearly come to the end of the tube so I have also just bought the Whitening one, just incase my teeth can get any whiter! It’s worth a try and costs about £3.95- £4.50 for a tube, which has lasted me just over 2 months. It is minty enough and leaves my teeth feeling brilliantly clean, it is green though which is a colour you don’t normally associate with toothpaste!

ADSENS_large ADWHITE_large

Deodorant – We have been told for years that the chemicals in deodorant are seriously harmful to our bodies and that we should look at changing them. Aluminium and Antiperspirants appear to have the worst of the anger towards them in the press so my Mum has been using a PitRok Rock which she wets after getting out of the shower and she has sworn by that for YEARS. I tried it and it’s too much hassle for me but when we went out at the weekend we found a handy alternative for me – PitRock Roll-on! I have used it for 2 days and it’s flipping brilliant stuff! I have been using Dove Invisible Cream Deodorant for about the last 7-10 years and PitRock beats it, I even smelt my armpits when I got into bed last night and they still smelt the same as when I put it on in the morning. I am totally converted and would suggest you try it too.

Then I needed to look into Shampoos and Conditioners, they have LOADS of stuff you really don’t want in your body in them. I have used Pantene and Aussie most of my adult life as I like the way they smell and the way my hair feels super shiny after using them, but they are being taken into my body just like anything else I use on it, so those had to go too. I have tried a few different shampoos and conditioners over the past few months as I have long, thick, wavy hair that can get a bit dry at times. Smooth As Silk Deep Moisture has to be the winner for me, it smells really scrummy and the conditioner has the same consistency to the normal Pantene ones I used to love. For an added boost I occasionally use melted coconut oil or an argan oil treatment. This shampoo and conditioner are expensive at £7.99 each but I feel my body deserves to be in the best possible place in order for me to have a baby.

Finally, I needed to find a brilliant shower gel. I have always known about Jason products and I am a massive fan of anything coconutty so I needed this in my life! It is lovely and creamy but doesn’t lather so you need a few squirts on a scrunchy to use on the whole body, but I really like this. It is still nearly 3/4ers full and I have been using it for 2 months, large 1 litre bottle though so it should last me a long time. I will happily use this product again in a different flavour too, maybe mandarin next time!

I hope I have helped anyone who might also be considering doing this too, your body is so so precious and if you want it to work in the best way possible then you need to make sure you are caring for it in the best way possible by eating the best foods and using the best products.

Do you like the rainbow chevron bunting in my bathroom? I love it! If you want some too then pop over to my friends fab craft page on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/LoveAndScruff

Love C x

One thought on “It’s not just about the food we eat, it’s also about the products we use

  1. Hello 🙂 Have you considered the chemical nasties you’re absorbing through all this plastic packaging though? This blog post explains why we’re trying to go plastic free- not an easy task and lots of the organic companies still haven’t caught their packaging up with their products! Here is a link to one of my favourite blogs: http://treadingmyownpath.com/2014/04/14/plastics-and-health-phthalates/ I also recommend Zero Waste Home- blog & book by Bea Johnson. L xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

