Apricot, Pistachio and Orange Zest Flapjacks

I love my food, I mean REALLY love my food, so a change of diet has meant a massive change to what I have been used to eating. If I can make something that vaguely reminds me of one of my favourites I am all over it and desperate to make it as best I can. So I managed to make some INCREDIBLE flapjacks last night and they are possibly the best flapjacks I have made in my life…and I have made rather a lot of them! As you know already I am on a refined, white sugar free diet, this also means I don’t even put brown sugar in my cooking, but I do like using Honey, Agave Nectar, Maple Syrup and Coconut Blossom Nectar Sugar as substitutes.

Here is my recipe for these totally amazing flapjacks, taken from the original by Ocado.

150grams of Organic butter or Raw, Virgin, Organic Coconut Oil

150grams Coconut Sugar 3tbsp Honey, Agave or Maple Syrup

200grams Organic Oats

100grams unsalted shelled Pistachios

150grams unbleached chopped up dried Apricots

Zest of one unwaxed, Organic Orange

Turn fan assisted oven on to 160 degrees Celsius to warm up. Melt butter, sugar and honey/agave/maple syrup in a saucepan over medium heat until all melted and incorporated. Add oats, pistachios, apricots and zest into the melted butter and mix well. Cook for 40 minutes in a 20cm square lined cake tin. In my opinion the orange zest really make these super special!

Enjoy!

C x

Leave a Reply

