New diet…new me?!

When I went to the see doctor, she told me I had to reduce the amount of food I was eating in order to lose weight with PCOS. Now, I have tried to do this for as long as I can remember, but with every different diet I have tried I lose weight for 2 weeks then it stops, BAM, nothing more to lose. I just thought it must be me and my pants willpower but it would appear that it is actually another symptom of PCOS and it’s called Insulin Resistance. Now this has a massive impact on us larger ladies with PCOS and makes it a gazillion times harder to lose weight.

Just reducing the amount I was eating probably wasn’t going to work – I wanted something crazier than that, I wanted CHANGE. Forever change.

So I decided to see the amazing David Broom at Hurn Forest Clinic knowing he could help me more, he works on looking at all the things you are intolerant or allergic to, and if your body is lacking in vitamins and he also does a full body organ check to see how everything is working. The results will blow your mind if you went to see him too, I promise you! So, other than the PCOS showing up and a load of other things, he said the best thing I could do was to go on a fully organic, non hormone diet, take out all wheat, dairy, soya, white refined sugar, hydrogenated fat, caffeine and most meat and fish from my diet and I would feel the results immediately. Now I know this sounds incredibly difficult but I have been mainly wheat and dairy free for about 10 years now so that does make it easier! But I have a MASSIVE sweet tooth so getting rid of all white refined sugar really was going to be tough.

I decided if I was going to do this diet I really needed sweet things to help me out so I made these fab coconut bites

10313059_10155396892180085_4500644954905389899_n

Made from raw cacao, dates and desiccated coconut these are the simplest things ever to make and really scrummy too!

– 1 cup of desiccated coconut

– 1 cup of almond flour

– 1 cup pitted dates

– 4 tablespoons of nut butter, or peanut butter if you would prefer

– 2 tablespoons of raw cacao powder

– 1 tablespoon of coconut oil

Start by blitzing the dates in the blender, then scoop it out and mix in all the other ingredients in a bowl, and roll into some extra desiccated coconut if you have it, or you can put half of the coconut in the mixture and leave the other half for rolling them in. Leave them in the fridge to firm up for an hour and you are ready. They are great for a bit of energy and brilliant for a sweet tooth like me! Let me know how you get on 🙂

Leave a Reply

