Loss, life and laughter…a bit about me

Many of my friends are getting married, settling down and making their own family. I too, am in that sort of time in my life but it hasn’t worked out quite as “planned”.

Me and my super handsome hubby, Ben have been together since we were 16/17 and after many years of encouragement he proposed after we had been together for 7 years and 11 months (just to be out of the ordinary!) We were married on the 23rd June 2012 and settled into married life perfectly.

11075279_10155419274995085_6383001752751200822_n

We’d lived in our 2 bedroom flat in Poole Town Centre for 3 years and decided to put it on the market, which took just shy of 2 years to complete and we moved into a beautiful 3 bed family home in nearby Creekmoor last October. It was perfect, except for the fact that in the February beforehand I had suffered an ectopic pregnancy and we hadn’t managed to get successfully pregnant since. We hoped the change of address and reduced amount of stress would help me to calm down so we could get pregnant, but still, nothing happened.

I popped to see the Doctor to discuss everything in November thinking I would have a nice chat, some encouraging words and maybe a blood test or two. Instead he said “It was a miscarriage, get over it and get on with it!” I was flabbergasted, I really thought I had wasting his time so decided to do as he said and crack on, until in February of this year after having weird periods (only about 6 in the whole of 2014, plus random watercolour ones) and masses amounts of continued ectopic pain in both sides, I went to see another Doctor who was wonderful. I also realised that my few depressed days per month, extra hair, tiredness and weight gain were also part and parcel of PCOS or Poly Cystic Ovary Syndrome. It felt like a weight had been lifted from my shoulders but I also had no idea what it was or what I needed to do in order to get “better”.

So, this is my new journey, hopefully into Motherhood but we shall wait and see…

Leave a Reply

